Home » MotorSport » Jorge Lorenzo wins 2013 MotoGP’s First Round in Qatar

Jorge Lorenzo wins 2013 MotoGP’s First Round in Qatar

Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo, the reigning world champion, won the first 2013 MotoGp race at Losail, Qatar without any doubts, the first round of the motorcycling world championship, MotoGP class season 2013. But the show was provided by veteran Valentino Rossi and rookie Marc Marquez.

LorenzoQatarGP 2013

Jorge Lorenzo wins 2013 Moto GP’s First Round

Note, however, that second was 34-year Italian Valentino Rossi, who scored a phenomenal race at Losail circuit and finished on #2 place behind Jorge Lorenzo. We don’t know who to praise more: Lorenzo won this race seconds apart, detaching himself from the pack, but what “Il Dottore”succeeded reminds us of the heyday ended when signing the contract with Ducati, two years ago.

Rossi has achieved an excellent second place in this season’s debut after a race in which he started from the 7th position, spectacular overtaking his competitors and placing his name on the list of those with a real chance to fight for world title, fight that seemed to be only between Lorenzo and Pedrosa. Qatar podium was completed by Marc Marquez.


Valentino Rossi – 2013 MotoGp

Experience has told its word and Rossi passed second the finish line, far away from his colleague from Yahamha,  Jorge Lorenzo. Marc Marquez had to settle for third place and also caught hi first podium in MotoGP and announces himself as a tough opponent this season!

Now back to our winner, Jorge Lorenzo as he passed smoothly by German Stefan Bradl, Britain’s Cal Crutchlow and Spaniard Dani Pedrosa. Last lap offered an electrifying duel between the old and new guard. Rossi battled for second position “wheel to wheel” with rookie Marc Marquez, Spain’s 20 years old, who made headlines last year in Moto2 and now competes for Honda.

Jorge Lorenzo Guerrero (born May 4, 1987) is a Spanish MotoGP pilot. He was born in the city of Palma de Mallorca in the Balearic Islands. He started racing since he was 15 years old. Can be considered the best pilot in 250cc category as he won the 2006 and 2007 seasons in this category.

Jorge Lorenzo was influenced since childhood by the world of motorcycles because his parents worked in this field, his father being a mechanic and his mother a messenger. At the age of three, his father built him a motorcycle and in the same year, he began in Balearic his first official motocross championship.

At the age of 5 he discovered that his future need much more speed and at the age of 6, he was already a professional, attending in motocross, minicross, trials. When he was 10, Jorge Lorenzo already was Balearic champion not less than 8 times.

He joined Montlau Team when he was 11 and of course, won the 50 cc Aprilia Cup. On this day, no one has ever beaten his record as the youngest driver to win a championship. The following season he went to 125 cc Aprilia Cup and won again. At age 12 Jorge Lorenzo began in CEP (Campeonato Español de Velocidad).

When he was 14 Jorge enrolled in 125 cc MotoGP race in Jerez but to race here you must be at least 15, luckily  he turned 15 the day before the race, so he participated in this race.

2013 MotoGp Race Standings in Qatar:

Pos No Rider Bike Time/Gap
1 99 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha 42’39.802
2 46 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha 5.99
3 93 Marc MARQUEZ Honda 6.201
4 26 Dani PEDROSA Honda 9.473
5 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha 18.764
6 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda 22.148
7 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati 24.355
8 69 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati 24.92
9 29 Andrea IANNONE Ducati 37.124
10 11 Ben SPIES Ducati 44.908
11 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ART 49.809
12 14 Randy DE PUNIET ART 56.495
13 8 Hector BARBERA FTR +1’09.599
14 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ ART +1’10.742
15 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA FTR +1’13.600
16 71 Claudio CORTI FTR Kawasaki +1’29.444
17 70 Michael LAVERTY PBM +1’34.341
18 52 Lukas PESEK Ioda-Suter +1’34.683
Not Classified
5 Colin EDWARDS FTR Kawasaki 7 Laps
9 Danilo PETRUCCI Ioda-Suter 10 Laps
6 Stefan BRADL Honda 14 Laps
38 Bradley SMITH Yamaha 18 Laps
67 Bryan STARING FTR Honda 21 Laps
17 Karel ABRAHAM ART 0 Lap

MotoGp 2013 – Driver Ranks 

1 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 25
2 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 20
3 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 16
4 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 13
5 Cal CRUTCHLOW Yamaha GBR 11
6 Alvaro BAUTISTA Honda SPA 10
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA  9
8 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA  8
9 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA  7
10 Ben SPIES Ducati USA  6
13 Hector BARBERA FTR SPA  3
15 Hiroshi AOYAMA FTR JPN  1


Leave a Reply