Home » MotorSport » Formula 1 » Rosberg will start from Pole Position the F1 Race in Bahrain!

Rosberg will start from Pole Position the F1 Race in Bahrain!

Nico Rosberg has achieved the second pole position of his career in Bahrain and will be followed on the starting grid by Sebastian Vettel and Fernando Alonso in the next F1 race. Mercedes continued its best debut of a F1 season and earned second consecutive pole position after the one in Shanghai, but this time the performance was achieved by Nico Rosberg.

Nico Rosberg f1 results 2013

Nico Rosberg F1 Grand Prix Bahrain Race Results

2013 F1 Grand Prix Bahrain Starting Grid

At his second pole position of his career after the one in China last year, the German stopped the clock at 1:32.330 and surpassed Sebastian Vettel of Red Bull Racing with two-tenths of a second. Fernando Alonso won third place with his Ferrari race car, but the Spaniard dropped his last lap after a mistake.

Lewis Hamilton finished fourth, but the Mercedes team driver will start from the ninth position because of a penalty for a gearbox change. This change propelled Felipe Massa on the same line of the grid with Alonso, although the Brazilan has used the opposite strategy starting the race again with hard composition tires.

The third line of the grid was monopolized by Force India with Paul di Resta and Adrian Sutil, while Mark Webber set the fifth time, but will leave the seventh position after a penalty prompted by his China incident with Jean-Eric Vergne .

Kimi Raikkonen was only ninth in qualifying, but will leave from #8 after penalties incurred by Webber and Hamilton, while Jenson Button has not made any timed lap in Q3 and will leave on the 10th position.

Q2: GROSJEAN’s problems continue

Even if he’s competing with a new chassis provided by Lotus, Romain Grosjean set only the 11th time and missed his access in the last part of the qualifications, same as the McLaren driver, Sergio Perez.

Scuderia Toro Rosso has been eliminated after Daniel Ricciardo and Jean-Eric Vergne have ranked the #13 and #16 spots, while Nico Hulkenberg is 14th driving his Sauber race car. Also, those from Williams continue their inauspicious debut of the F1 season, after Valtteri Bottas got only 15th place, while teammate Pastor Maldonado was eliminated in Q1.

bahrain circuit picture 2013 starting grid

F1 Circuit Bahrain Race starting Grid 2013

Q1: GUTIERREZ, last position on the grid

Esteban Gutierrez set the 18th time in the first part of the qualifications, but will depart from last position of the grid due to a penalty of five positions dictated for his incident in China.

Caterham has managed to impose itself against the Marussia rivals with their best driver Charles Pic, which will start in front of Jules Bianchi (Marussia), Giedo van der Garde (Caterham) and Max Chilton (Marussia). F1 Grand Prix of Bahrain will take place on Sunday starting 15:00 GMT.

F1 Grand Prix Bahrain – Qualifying Results


 1.  Nico Rosberg         Mercedes              1m32.330s
 2.  Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault      1m32.584s  + 0.254s
 3.  Fernando Alonso      Ferrari               1m32.667s  + 0.337s
 4.  Lewis Hamilton       Mercedes              1m32.762s  + 0.432s
 5.  Mark Webber          Red Bull-Renault      1m33.078s  + 0.748s
 6.  Felipe Massa         Ferrari               1m33.207s  + 0.877s
 7.  Paul di Resta        Force India-Mercedes  1m33.235s  + 0.905s
 8.  Adrian Sutil         Force India-Mercedes  1m33.246s  + 0.916s
 9.  Kimi Raikkonen       Lotus-Renault         1m33.327s  + 0.997s
10.  Jenson Button        McLaren-Mercedes

Q2 cut-off time: 1m33.702s Gap **

11.  Romain Grosjean      Lotus-Renault         1m33.762s  + 1.016s
12.  Sergio Perez         McLaren-Mercedes      1m33.914s  + 1.168s
13.  Daniel Ricciardo     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m33.974s  + 1.228s
14.  Nico Hulkenberg      Sauber-Ferrari        1m33.976s  + 1.230s
15.  Valtteri Bottas      Williams-Renault      1m34.105s  + 1.359s
16.  Jean-Eric Vergne     Toro Rosso-Ferrari    1m34.284s  + 1.538s

Q1 cut-off time: 1m34.425s Gap *

17.  Pastor Maldonado     Williams-Renault      1m34.425s  + 1.547s
18.  Esteban Gutierrez    Sauber-Ferrari        1m34.730s  + 1.852s
19.  Charles Pic          Caterham-Renault      1m35.283s  + 2.405s
20.  Jules Bianchi        Marussia-Cosworth     1m36.178s  + 3.300s
21.  Giedo van der Garde  Caterham-Renault      1m36.304s  + 3.426s
22.  Max Chilton          Marussia-Cosworth     1m36.476s  + 3.598s

f1 bahrain circuit explained map

Leave a Reply