Home » MotorSport » Formula 1 » F1: Vettel won the Grand Prix de Monaco

F1: Vettel won the Grand Prix de Monaco

Sebastian Vettel won on Monte Carlo Circuit the Monaco Grand Prix in Formula 1 2011 season, his first career victory at Monaco after a spectacular race full of incidents where pilots have the podium adopted completely different strategies.

Sebastian Vettel has passed into account Sunday the fifth victory in the first six races of the 2011 F1 season after winning with emotions the Grand Prix de Monaco.

Red Bull Racing driver has adopted an unusual strategy with one pit stop, which seemed in the last 15-20 laps a complete failure context in which Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button were close to half a second with fresh tires. However, an interruption of the race with only five laps before the end following an accident suffered by Vitaly Petrov allowed the German to change tires and pass the finish line first after the restart.

Alonso finished second with an two-stop strategy with the regret that he didn’t decisively attack Vettel before the race interruption, while Button has ascended to the last step of the podium. McLaren driver made ​​no more than three pit stops, but was able to catch up on Vettel and Alonso in the last 15 laps because of the supersoft tires.

The race was suspended just before the final five laps following a chain accident caused by Sutil, who hit the protection rails. Then, chaos broke out behind him and Alguersuari hit Hamilton from behind and damaged the rear wing. Petrov had no space and hit violently the metal rails, the Russian remained in monopost, at which race commissioners showed the red flags. Petrov was taken to the hospital with minor injuries and later said that he didn’t came out from the race car because he had pain, preferring to wait for medical intervention.

Mark Webber finished in 4th place just after an race where he lost a lot of time during the first pit stop, while Kamui Kobayashi won the best performance of his career after he finished 5th at the end of a race in which he made an single entry to the pit-stops.

Meanwhile, Hamilton has concluded a difficult weekend only ranked six. The Brit managed a spectacular overtake in the first lap on the hairpin against Michael Schumacher, but then lost more than 15 seconds on the first pit-stop and was penalized with a drive-through after a duel with Felipe Massa also in the hairpin. The Brazilian but was unable to take advantage of this, since it was forced to abandon race after he hit the metal rails in the tunnel in a duel wheel to wheel with the same Hamilton.

Adrian Sutil and Nick Heidfeld completed the platoon, while Williams won the first points of the season after Rubens Barrichello finished in 9th place. The Brits were on the brink of a major performance by Pastor Maldonado, who competed on in 4th place when the race resumed, but hit the metal rails in the first turn following a duel with Hamilton. The last point at stake was won by Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso).

Monaco – Race Rankings and overall standings (Provisionally Race Results)

The Monaco Grand PrixMonte Carlo Circuit, Monaco;
78 laps; 3.34km (2.075 miles);    Weather: Sunny.

Fastest lap: Mark Webber, 1:16.234, lap 78


Pos Driver Team Time
1 Vettel Red Bull-Renault
2 Alonso Ferrari
3 Button McLaren-Mercedes
4 Webber Red Bull-Renault + 23.100
5 Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari + 26.900
6 Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes + 27.200
7 Sutil Force India-Mercedes + 1 lap
8 Heidfeld Renault + 1 lap
9 Barrichello Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
10 Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 1 lap
11 Rosberg Mercedes GP + 1 lap
12 Di Resta Force India-Mercedes + 2 lap
13 Trulli Lotus-Renault + 2 lap
14 Kovalainen Lotus-Renault + 2 lap
15 D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth + 2 lap
16 Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth + 2 lap
17 Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth + 2 lap
18 Maldonado Williams-Cosworth + 2 lap


Driver / Team / Lap

Petrov (Renault) 68

Alguersuari (Toro Rosso-Ferrari) 68

Massa (Ferrari) 33

Schumacher (Mercedes GP) 33

Glock (Virgin-Cosworth) 31

Perez (Sauber-Ferrari) 1

World Championship standings, round 6:



Pos Driver Points Pos Team Points
1 Vettel 143 1 Red Bull-Renault 222
2 Hamilton 85 2 McLaren-Mercedes 161
3 Webber 79 3 Ferrari 93
4 Button 76 4 Renault 50
5 Alonso 69 5 Mercedes GP 40
6 Heidfeld 29 6 Sauber-Ferrari 21
7 Rosberg 26 7 Force India-Mercedes 10
8 Massa 24 8 Toro Rosso-Ferrari 7
9 Petrov 21 9 Williams-Cosworth 2
10 Kobayashi 19      
11 Schumacher 14      
12 Sutil 8      
13 Buemi 7      
14 Perez 2      
15 Barrichello 2      
16 Di Resta 2      

Next Race: Canada 10-12 June


Leave a Reply