Home » MotorSport » Formula 1 » F1: Vettel won the Grand Prix of Turkey

F1: Vettel won the Grand Prix of Turkey

Sebastian Vettel won on Istanbul Racing Circuit the Turkish Grand Prix in Formula 1 2011 season without emotions in and was assisted by his teammate at Red Bull Racing (RBR), Mark Webber, while Ferrari won the first podium of the season with Fernando Alonso.

Grand Prix of Turkey 2011 has offered a new dose of show in Formula 1, in a race where the number of overtakes was much higher than the previous season and at a level comparable with those in the Chinese Grand Prix. Even if the pilots have generally adopted a very similar strategy with four pit stops, adjustable rear wing and KERS assured the show throughout the race.

Starting from on the first position of the grid after the pole position achieved Saturday, Sebastian Vettel completed a mere formality in the Turkish Grand Prix. The world champion led the race without any emotions and, at the end of a strategy with four pit stops performed flawlessly, which gave up only sporadically in the first pit stop at the leading position, passed the finish line first.

German’s performance was complemented by his teammate Mark Webber, who finished second even if at start if he lost his position in front of Nico Rosberg. But the Australian came back in round six due to the adjustable rear wing, but in round 30 he will be overtaken by Fernando Alonso. However, Webber regained the position gained in qualifications only six laps before the finish overtaking the Spaniard.

Alonso brought the first podium for Ferrari in this competition season at the end of a race in which he overtake Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg in early rounds, even if eventually he gave the second position to Webber.

Lewis Hamilton finished only fourth at the end of a race full of incidents. McLaren driver was overtaken by Alonso and Jenson Button at start, and later he had a spectacular duel with his teammate before overtake Felipe Massa at the first pit stop. Later, the British overtake Rosberg and crossed the finish line on the fourth place despite a very slow fourth pit stop.

A disappointing race had Rosberg, who finished only in fifth place even if start he overtake Webber. The Mercedes GP Team driver was overtaken successively by Hamilton, Felipe Massa and Button, but finished in front of the last two.

Renault won seven and eight place by Nick Heidfeld and Vitaly Petrov, while Sebastien Buemi won ninth place for Toro Rosso. The last point at stake was won by Kamui Kobayashi, who once again impressed by the high number of overtakes after he left from the last position of the start grid and made ​​only three pit stops.

Massa finished on the 11th place just in front of Michael Schumacher who once again had numerous problems, being forced to enter the pits since the first lap after a collision with Petrov. Later, the German was overtaken including by Buemi and his former teammate at Ferrari. The only abandon of the race was made by Paul di Resta of Force India, while Timo Glock failed he take the start in the race due to a gearbox failure.

Turkey – Race Rankings and overall standings (Provisional Race Results)

The Turkish Grand PrixIstanbul Racing Circuit, Turkey;
58 laps; 309.396 km;    Weather: Sunny.

Fastest lap: Mark Webber, 1:29.703, lap 48


Pos Driver Team Time
1 Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1h30:17.558
2 Webber Red Bull-Renault + 8.807
3 Alonso Ferrari + 10.075
4 Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes + 40.232
5 Rosberg Mercedes GP + 47.539
6 Button McLaren-Mercedes + 59.431
7 Heidfeld Renault + 1:00.857
8 Petrov Renault + 1:08.168
9 Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 1:09.300
10 Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari + 1:18.000
11 Massa Sauber-Ferrari + 1:19.800
12 Schumacher Mercedes GP + 1:25.400
13 Sutil Force India-Mercedes + 1 lap
14 Perez Sauber-Ferrari + 1 lap
15 Barrichello Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
16 Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari + 1 lap
17 Maldonado Williams-Cosworth + 1 lap
18 Trulli Lotus-Renault + 1 lap
19 Kovalainen Lotus-Renault + 2 laps
20 D’Ambrosio Virgin-Cosworth + 2 laps
21 Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth + 2 laps
22 Liuzzi HRT-Cosworth  

Driver / Team / Lap
Di Resta / Force India-Mercedes / 45
Glock / Virgin-Cosworth / 1

World Championship standings, round 3:

Drivers Constructors
Pos Driver Points Pos Team Points
1 Vettel 93 1 Red Bull-Renault 148
2 Hamilton 59 2 McLaren-Mercedes 105
3 Webber 55 3 Ferrari 65
4 Button 46 4 Renault 42
5 Alonso 26 5 Mercedes GP 26
6 Massa 24 6 Sauber-Ferrari 8
7 Petrov 21 7 Toro Rosso-Ferrari 6
8 Heidfeld 21 8 Force India-Mercedes 4
9 Rosberg 20      
10 Kobayashi 8      
11 Schumacher 6      
12 Buemi 6      
13 Di Resta 2      
14 Sutil 2      

Next Race: Spain 20-22 May

Leave a Reply