Home » MotorSport » Formula 1 » F1: Vettel will start from pole position in China Grand Prix

F1: Vettel will start from pole position in China Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel won the third pole position this season and will go along with team-mate Mark Webber in the first line of the grid in China Grand Prix.

Dominance of Red Bull Racing debut in this season continue in China, after the team owned by Dietrich Mateschitz managed a sensational new double. Timed with 1:34.558, Sebastian Vettel set the benchmark qualification and he was over two tenths of a second faster than team-mate Mark Webber. It is the third pole position of the young German pilot got this season, given that Red Bull is the only team left in the first position this year.

Right behind those two ranks Fernando Alonso, Scuderia Ferrari driver Nico Rosberg followed by the Mercedes GP.  Although he was credited with a good chance for a pole position due to the advantage obtained by straight lines using a system innovative ventilation, McLaren Mercedes had to be content only with sites 5 and 6 of Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton.

Even if you set the fastest time in Q1 and Q2, Hamilton was about 4 tenths of a second slower than Vettel and is followed on standings leader grid by Felipe Massa and Robert Kubica, but at Renault. Schumacher managed to position itself in extremis on the ninth stage of the grid, driver Mercedes Team GP overcoming it in the last seconds of the session Adrian Sutil, who succeeded but a new ranking in the top 10.

WILLIAMS, AND Sauber Toro Rosso, disposed of in Q2
Unlike the previous Grand Prix, Williams missed both this monoposturi Q3 and Rubens Barrichello and Nico Hulkenberg will leave on 11th and 16th places. But the Brazilian was only three tenths of a second slower Schumacher, who arrived in extremis Q3.
Neither Toro Rosso failed to progress in the last part, and Jaime Alguersuari and Sebastien Buemi will go on positions 12 and 13. Behind them was placed Russian Vitaly Petrov for Renault, while BMW Sauber has had a disappointing qualifying session nine. Thus, Kamui Kobayashi will go from 15th place, while Pedro de la Rosa set only the 17th time.

Force India, the shock first part of QUALIFICATIONS
Great surprise of the first part of the qualifications of Vitantonio Liuzzi was the elimination, as Force India was the beginning of the season revelation. However, the difference between Italian and Vitaly Petrov, the occupant of number 14 in Q1, was only 0.13 seconds, which confirms the compactness of firing means Formula 1.
As expected, the other 6 riders eliminated in this part of the qualifications were representatives of three new teams in F1. Timo Glock (Virgin Racing) will start from 19th place two riders in front of Lotus team, Jarno Trulli and Heikki Kovalainen, while Lucas di Grassi mate hit number 22.
Hispania Racing will again occupy the last line of the grid by Bruno Senna and Chandhok Karuna, such as 5 penalty against the Indian position dictated by the FIA will have no impact on the final ranking.

1. Vettel – Red Bull – 1:34.558
2. Webber – Red Bull – 1:34.806
3. Alonso – Ferrari – 1:34.913
4. Rosberg – Mercedes – 1:34.923
5. Button – McLaren – 1:34.979
6. Hamilton – McLaren – 1:35.034
7. Massa – Ferrari – 1:35.180
8. Kubica – Renault – 1:35.364
9. Schumacher – Mercedes – 1:35.646
10. Sutil – Force India – 1:35.963

One comment

  1. This year’s F1 championship is really interesting and funny… 🙂

Leave a Reply