Home » MotorSport » Formula 1 » F1: Not even rain could stop Button from winning the 2010 Chinese Grand Prix

F1: Not even rain could stop Button from winning the 2010 Chinese Grand Prix

Jenson Button won the Chinese Grand Prix, and Lewis Hamilton completed the double for McLaren at the end of the most spectacular race of the season.

Jenson Button took advantage of a new strategy regarding the excellent pit stops for his second win of  this season, the Briton remained on the circuit race when nearly all its rivals have opted for rain tires. Hamilton eventually won 2nd place at the end of a demonstration by rain which passed in a spectacular manner, among others, Michael Schumacher, while the podium was completed by Nico Rosberg, who adopted a strategy similar to Button’s.

Fernando Alonso won a 4th place in extremis, despite a penalty incurred at home due to the fact that the early start and went off before the red lights. Robert Kubica finished in 5th place, its performance is completed by Vitaly Petrov mate, before the author of a spectacular overtaking Michael Schumacher in the last laps of the race.
Away from pole position, Sebastian Vettel finished in 6th place just because of elections to conduct exchanges tire uninspired and because the home was passed by team-mate Mark Webber. The latter finished in 8th place, ahead of Felipe Massa and Michael Schumacher. The ex- world champion has won one point at the end of a disappointing race in which he was overtaken by Hamilton, Vettel, Petrov and Massa, although it was a real king of the rain.
Commissioners will investigate the flight hours following a duel between Hamilton and Vettel pit spent on line, the two are liable to penalties that could change the overall standings.

Grand Prix of China saw 7 retirements Trulli, di Grassi, de la Rosa, Buemi, Kobayashi, Liuzzi and Glock. Best lap time by Hamilton, who was timed in 1:42.061 on lap 13.

RACE Results – Shanghai
01. Button – McLaren – 1h44:42.163
02. Hamilton – McLaren +1.530
03. Rosberg – Mercedes +9.484
04. Alonso – Ferrari +11.869
05. Kubica – Renault +22.213
06. Vettel – Red Bull +33.310
07. Petrov – Renault +47.600
08. Webber – Red Bull +52.172
09. Massa – Ferrari +57.796
10. Schumacher – Mercedes +1:01.749
11. Sutil – Force India +1:02.874
12. Barrichello – Williams +1:03.665
13. Alguersuari – Toro Rosso +1:11.416
14. Kovalainen – Lotus +1 lap
15. Hulkenberg – Williams +1 lap
16. Senna – HRT +2 laps
17. Chandhok – HRT +4 laps

01. Jenson Button – 60
02. Nico Rosberg – 50
03. Lewis Hamilton – 49
04. Fernando Alonso – 49
05. Sebastian Vettel – 45
06. Felipe Massa – 41
07. Robert Kubica – 40
08. Mark Webber – 28
09. Adrian Sutil – 10
10. Michael Schumacher – 10

01. McLaren Mercedes – 109
02. Scuderia Ferrari – 90
03. Red Bull Racing – 73
04. Mercedes Grand Prix – 60
05. Renault F1 Team – 46
06. Force India F1 – 18
07. Williams F1 Team – 6


  1. Took me time to read all the comments, but I really enjoyed the article. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commenters here! It’s always nice when you can not only be informed, but also entertained! I’m sure you had fun writing this article.

  2. Cristine Girbach

    Button is really too good this year. Go go button! 😀

  3. Great website you have, the articles here are very useful. Thanks! 😀

Leave a Reply