Home » Car News » News » International Engine of the Year Awards 2010

International Engine of the Year Awards 2010

Volkswagen, BMW, Fiat, Toyota, Mercedes and Audi are the six manufacturers that received awards at the 2010 edition of the International Engine of the Year competition. The twelve awards of the 2010 edition of the annual competition International Engine of the Year (IEY) were divided by only six automotive manufacturers. If Volkswagen has received the most prestigious award of the competition, BMW has scored in volume, which received the most awards in 2010. Mercedes and Toyota have received two awards, while Fiat and Audi have received only one.

Volkswagen have Engine of the Year
The most important prize of the competition, Engine of the Year 2010, goes for the second consecutive time to Volkswagen for the 1.4 liter TSI unit on Golf, Scirocco, Jetta, Touran, Tiguan and Seat Ibiza Cupra. The jury found that the German motor remains the best combination of technologies that produce high power in terms of emission and lowered consumption. Same Volkswagen engine received the prize in category between 1.0 and 1.4 liter engines but didn’t reprinted performance from last year when the German unit was awarded the most ecological engine in competition.

Toyota gaining all on “Green”
This year’s most coveted distinction Green Engine of the Year was received, predictably, by the hybrid system developed by the new generation Toyota Prius Hybrid and the new Auris Hybrid. The same Japanese manufacturer has received the awarded for engines under 1.0 liter, three-cylinder propeller that mounts Aygo, iQ, Yaris, Subaru Justy, Peugeot 107 and Citroen C1.

Great debut for Fiat MultiAir
MultiAir technology, launched last year and appeared in 2010 range, had brought the prize to Fiat for The Best Engine Launched Last Year, 1.4 MultiAir unit of the MiTo and Alfa Romeo Giulietta managed to beat all competitors. According to the jury, this engine has been praised for being able to raise the maximum power by 10% while the consumption is lowerd by 10%.

BMW takes four prizes
BMW is going home with more trophies won at this year’s IEY. Somewhat predictably, 1.6-liter turbo unit developed jointly with PSA Peugeot-Citroen received highest distinction in the category Engines Between 1.4 and 1.8 liter. The engine can be found on the Mini Cooper S, Mini JCW, Peugeot 207, Peugeot 308, Citroen C4 and Citroen DS3 has managed to win its category for the fourth consecutive year. Other awards received by BMW was for the 2.0-liter diesel Twin Turbo (123d and X1 23d) in the category Engines Between 1.8 and 2.0 liter, the Twin Turbo 3.0-liter unit (35i, 335i, 535i, X5 35i, X6 35i and Z4) in the category Engines Between 2.5 and 3.0 liter and by the 4.0-liter V8 on the Bmw M3 in the category Engines Between 3.0 and 4.0 liter.

Mercedes and Audi
Neither has gone home empty handed. Mercedes was awarded in categories Above 4.0-liter Engines and Performance Engine. The AMG 6.2-liter unit was awarded. Finally, 2.5-liter turbo engine with five cylinders on the Audi TT-RS has received the highest prize in the category Engines Between 2.0 and 2.5 liter.

Leave a Reply